Passenger Section
 PNR Status Check
 Berth / Seat Reservation
 Train Schedule
 Trains between Stations
 Spot your Train
 Seat Availability
Tourists Section
 Special Tourist Trains

 Holiday Packages

 Rail Tour Packages

Online Recharge
Pension portal
National Voters Service Portal, the National Portal of India.
Prevention of WannaCry Ransomware Threat -session by CERT-In
Sofacy Advisory
Total Visitors: 7800656
Banner 1
Banner 2
Banner 3
Banner 4
Banner 5

Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw
Minister for Railways

Shri V. Somanna
Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways

Shri Ravneet Singh
Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways
Gati-Shakti Cargo Terminal (GCT) Application
Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section. Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public. The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009. In October 2010, Metro services further extended upto Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It is further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms). It extended in East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022. From Joka to Taratala (6.5 km) inaugurated on 30.12.2022 and thrown open for public on 02.01.2023 in JOKA-ESPLANADE section (Purple Line). Extension in Purple Line from Taratala to Majherhat (1.25 km); in Kavi Subhash - Airport section (Orange Line) from Kavi Subhash to Hemanta Mukhopadhyay (5.4 km) and in Green Line Howrah Maidan to Esplanade (4.8 km) was inaugurated on 06.03.2024 and thrown open for public on 15.03.2024.


Achievements of Ministry of Railways & Ministry of Commerce and Industry


Tenders start stop
Press Releases / News  start stop