Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India









Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

Brief of RPF/Metro Railway/Kolkata :

Metro Railway/Kolkata, India’s first Metro Railway commenced it’s in October, 1984 and is considered life-line of Kolkata. There are 26 stations over 32.13 KM from Dakhshineswar in the North to Kavi Subhas Metro station in the South(North-South Metro Corridor) and 07 stations over 06.66 KM from Salt Lake Sector-5 in the East to Phool Bagan in the West (East-West Metro Corridor). There are 04 car sheds at Noapara, Kavi Subhas, Tollygunge and Central Park Depot. RPF Metro Railway/Kolkata is providing security to Railway Properties, passengers and passenger area over the entire jurisdiction of Metro Railway/Kolkata.

RPF Metro Railway Kolkata is headed by IG-cum-Principal Chief Security Commissioner. He is assisted by one DIG-cum-Chief Security Commissioner, one Sr. Security Commissioner and one Assistant Security Commissioner. The head Office of the RPF/Metro Railway/Kolkata is situated at ESS Building(Near Exide More),1/5 A J C Bose Road, Kolkata -700020.

At the field level, there are five RPF posts in Metro Railway Kolkata. They are headed by Inspectors/RPF. The RPF Posts and metro stations falling in their jurisdiction are as under.

1) Noapara RPF Post:- Dakhineswar, Baranagar and Noapara Metro stations fall under the jurisdiction of Noapara RPF Post.

2) Belgachia RPF Post :- Dumdum, Belgachia, Shyambazar, Shobhabazar, Girishpark and Mahatma Gandhi Road Metro stations fall under the jurisdiction of Belgachia RPF Post.

3) Central RPF Post:- Central , Chandichowak, Esplanade, Park-street and Maidan Metro stations fall under the jurisdiction of Central Post.

4) Kalighat RPF Post:- Rabindrasadan, Netajibhawan, Jatindaspark, Kalighatand Rabindrasarobar Metro stations fall under the jurisdiction of Kalighat RPF Post.

5) Tollygunge RPF Post:- Mahanayak Uttam Kumar, Netaji, Masterda Surya Sen, Geetanjali, Kavi Nazrul, Sahid Khudiram and Kavi Subhas Metro stations fall under the jurisdiction of Tollygunge RPF Post.

In addition to the above RPF is deployed in East-west Corridor covering 07 Metro Railway stations i.e Salt Lake Sector V, Karunamoyee, Central Park, City Centre, Bengal Chemical, Salt Lake Stadium and Pholbagan Metro Station.

Other units functioning in RPF Metro Railway/Kolkata are :–

  1. Dog Squad of Metro Railway is located at Belgachia. Dog Squad conducts regular anti sabotage checks against explosives, contraband goods and other suspicious articles over the jurisdiction of Metro Railway/Kolkata.

  2. Logistic and Transport Management Wing(LTM) provides logistics and looks after the modernisationwork of RPF Metro Railway/Kolkata.

  3. Crime Intelligence Branch(CIB) collects information about criminals and also assistsRPF posts in working out crime cases reported over the jurisdiction of Metro Railway/Kolkata.

  4. Special Intelligence Branch(SIB) collects information about different organizations and unions effective over Metro Railway/Kolkata, and also collect information and forecasts about subversive activities of affecting Metro Railway security.

  5. Divisional Quarter Master(DQM) collects and provides store items to different posts and units.

  6. Security Control (SCNL) attend all calls on Security Help Line and Women Security Help Line. It regularly monitors CCTV feed of all the stations and takes further follow up action.

    RPF Metro Railway is committed to provide the best level of security round the clock to its valuable Metro Commuters. All the Metro stations are fully covered under CCTV surveillanceand checking is carried out through latest Security gadgets like Baggage Scanners, Hand Held Metal Detectors, Door Frame Metal Detectors etc. For instant help to the women commuters Women Security Helpline 9007041908 and Security Helpline 9007041789are available round the clock. RPF mobile Special Squads are also available over Metro railway Kolkata to provide better assistance to metro commuters. Armed Quick Reaction Teams are available at different Metro Stations to face any eventuality for protecting Metro Railway Property and valuable Metro Commuters.

Source : Metro Railway Kolkata / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 25-10-2021  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.