Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India








Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Railway lifts Obaidullah Khan Hockey Cup

Railway lifts Obaidullah Khan Hockey Cup

Posted o­n: 27 MAR 2022 7:46PM by PIB Delhi

Indian Railways’ men Hockey team won the prestigious Obaidullah Khan Heritage Hockey Cup held at Bhopal (MP) from 21.03.2022 to 27.03.2022. In the final match held  o­n Sunday, Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) team beat Army XI by 2:

The prestigious hockey tournament was played at Major Dhyanchand Stadium, Bhopal where Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan inaugurated the tournament o­n 21st March.

Started in year 1931 as Obaidullah Gold Cup, the prestigious tournament carried o­n for decades and has produced many  international players during its journey. It was last played in year 2016 and was organized after a gap of six years this year. Last time, in  the year 2016, the tournament was won by  BPCL and Railways team was runners up.

A dozen teams participated in the esteemed  tournament  concluded o­n March 27 where Railway’s  Arjun was adjudged Man of the Tournament.

The man of the final Match,  best defender and best mid fielder were also from Railways viz. Joginder, Jasjit and  Niyaz Rahim respectively.

It is worth a mention that Indian Railways have approximately 3000 active men and women sportspersons.  Railways also have a vast sports infrastructure across the country including the dedicated Hockey Academy at RCF, Kapurthala.

The Indian women Hockey team which secured 4th place in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, was composed of 12 Railway players out of total 16  players. The Indian Men Hockey team in the Olympics also had two  players from Indian Railways.

As a matter of fact,  during the year 2021-22, RSPB Men  Hockey team has  participated in 05 National Level Tournaments and has played final in all the 05 tournaments.


  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.